Self-Care and Your Higher Power

What is spirituality?  It can be a feeling of intense peace, a true connection with God or whatever your higher power is, or a complete faith that no matter what happens you will be okay.  Everyone has the potential for feeling spiritual but if you want it, you have to encourage its growth inside you.

Twenty years ago, during a time of turmoil in my life, I was talking with a very good friend. He is the kindest, calmest, happiest, most spiritual person I know. I told him I wanted what he had. He told me I could not have his, and that I had to find my own. I was dismayed.  Why couldn’t he just give me some?

So I learned that spirituality involves becoming aware of your unique spirit which is different for each human being.  It is your journey to find yourself.  It is recognizing that there is a spirit within you which is part of a higher power that extends everywhere.

It is learning to be kind and caring to yourself and others you do and don’t know. It means letting go of judgmentalism, negativism, and selfishness. Ultimately, it leads to  understanding that all living things are connected to one another because all are aspects of divine consciousness.

As Chief Seattle said,

“Man did not weave the web of life

He is merely a strand of it

Whatever he does to the web

He does to himself.”

Real Mom Ariel

Let your spirituality shine inside and out.

Today’s author is Ariel Martin, M.A., Pastoral Care Director and Counselor.

Leave a comment